Not a blog about the science or practice of travel through books, but perhaps rather about science, practice and travel through books.

A half-year in Sweden

It was certainly time to move out, but renting a room in Bergen, where I have lived since 5, didn’t tempt me so much. So I went for exchange 🙂 This fall I study at Lund University in southern Sweden, and I have not yet decided where I will be when the spring comes. Lund is a small and charming medieval city and I have got myself a nice, light room where I feel really comfortable. In the beginning, I used MyMaps to make a little map of Lund. Have a look at it if you want to know where I live and what my neighborhood looks like.

The first two weeks we had a swedish course. I attended an advanced level, as Swedish and Norwegian are very similar. The other attendees were mostly Germans and Finn, but there were also on Italian, one American, two from Denmark and one Norwegian. It was actually really useful, also because I was forced to think about how I use the language and compose sentences.

After that I’ve studied analytical chemistry. Nothing goes in parallel here. The semester is divided into two part-semesters, with one course in each. And in each course, you first have all the lectures, then labs and finally some time to read on your own before the exam. The positive is that you can concentrate on one subject at a time, the negative is that the progress in the lectures is very fast. The first three weeks we had four-hour lectures every day. Then it’s a pity if you’re sick for three days – which I luckily weren’t.

Leave a Reply

